Ulrich, Hilda Weihler
Ulrich, Hilda Weihler

Today I am going to tell you my personal experience with old peoples care.

An old aunt of mine was living in a village near Stuttgart. There were five sorts of people. Those which were keen on her money. Those who were ignoring her. Those who wanted to get rid of her. Crazy people and other inadequate people. Some day her welfare agency rang me because they needed somebody for the power of attorney. So I went there and did it. Her physician wanted to keep her in her flat. So I left her there. Fortunately I found a service, who installed a medical alarm. That was a bit tricky, because when activated somebody there would obviously have had to check, if there is a serious problem before the ambulance was alarmed. For the reasons mentioned above nobody was able to do that. So everytime she touched it a firebrigade-, medical- and policeteam had to check if everything is OK. The firebrigade for the steep stairs, the doctor for the health and the police for the property. Sometimes she activated the button every few weeks. A church-based welfare agency tried to do the household. Unfortunately the people they send were obviously that unpleasant, that she refused to open the doors one day. Some months later she collapsed seriously in her flat and was brought to a hospital in this village completely dehydrated. Some days before my birthday in 2008 they rang me in order to tell me, that there would be no reason anymore to keep her, I should pick her up immediately otherwise they would bring her to an old peoples home in this village. I told them, that not a single person there would be visiting her and she always threatened to kill herself if she had to go to an old peoples home. I proposed them to check the possibilities in my neighbourhood several hundred kilometers away and asked for a health report.

The report they issued was that bad, that every place refused to accept her. Obviously they wanted to keep her in the town, where nobody was caring for her or matching with her expectations. Since they wanted to get rid of her, they brought her to a mental hospital. In this place they blamed the medical hospital for her bad constitution and issued a better report. With this document I was able to find a place for her to stay in my neighbourhood some weeks later, to rent a private flat and organize a private nurse.

Due to several reasons she had seven different nurses in the following two years. During that time she brought her thighs three times, because she sometimes forgot that she could not walk properly. In the one hospital they handcuffed her to the bed and put it on the corridor without legal permission. Then her last private nurse set her up against me, until she threatened to jump out the window, that she had to be brought to a mental hospital for weeks. In this mental hospital she developed hallucinations and the bakers’ guild obviously saved her life there. She refused to do any “idiot tests”. Back home her nurse herself decided to ask for psychiatric help due to the stressful situation and decided to be ill for an uncertain time, despite this fact she occupied her flat and started suing me.

So I had to find spontaneously an old peoples home and bring her there. There she could not choose what to wear and had to wait for hours till somebody came to help her to the toilet. So she nearly hit her eyes out with some objects on the way and brought her rips. Due to lacking staff, I had to bring her to the doctor, they claimed the money for. Then I brought her to another old peoples home. Then she had a problem with digestion, and they found rotten plastic in her intestine somebody sticked there somewhen.

In the same time, her last private nurse decided to sue me at public expense as long as my insurance cancelled the treaty. Obviously she had several oral contracts for work and rent with me, I offended her and stole her property. So I had to put her on the street, in order to prevent to pay rent for her until the court has time to deal with the case and it was not clear how it will decide. My neighbour obviously had success with the same method. Then my lawyer made a mistake because he did not cancel all possible treaties between all possible involved persons. So the labour courts took years to make a decision. Then it insisted in a compromise. Due to that I lost my lawyer. 

When I brought her back to her hometown one month later, because I could not cope anymore with all those tragedies she died. Then the people living in her house demanded a renovation for tens of thousands of euros. So I had to sell it.

Then the last private nurse alarmed social authorities and the customs, so I had to pay a fine. Fortunately my new lawyer got the money back six years later.

During this processes I lost my job. So I used the time for teaching, travelling and further education in cognitive neurosciences and artificial intelligence. All this time I was spied by the state, and 2013 they took my consciousness in my flat and sent me abroad. Obviously they wanted to prevent public awareness of such cases and the same procedure with my mother, the next case of aging. This is why the state is forcibly conditioning me against her.

The improvement I can imagine in those and other situations is data, knowing the participants of the game, their interests and the tools they use, in order to find best matches with better methods than we have today, and to improve jurisdiction. The whole catalogue of artificial intelligence from nanotechnologies and digital assistants till enhanced reality and intention recognition are certainly as helpful as virtual reality. Probably also blockchain solutions will be of help, if easy to use and classical concepts fail.

From experience many health care providers are insisting in personal contact, but if the personal contact is that horrible it is doubtlessly better without it or at least to control it.

Merken

Merken

